Showing posts from November, 2019

Max Patches for Spectral Audio Freeze - Part 1

In 2008, I shared a number of Max patches for live audio freeze, using the techniques described in the Computer Music Journal article A Tutorial on Spectral Sound Processing Using Max/MSP and Jitter. These patches use the FFT - Fast Fourier Transform in Max to achieve a vivid, alive spectral freeze. The links mentioned in the 2010 post Max patches back online are not valid anymore, so I revamped a first series of patches to ease the learning process. They are now available on this Download page.Contents:01-freeze-spectrum: analysis/re-synthesis of one spectrum02-stocha-freeze: analysis/stochastic re-synthesis of n successive spectra03-denoised-freeze: add rough denoiser04-ar-freeze: add attack/release smoothing05-harmonic-freeze: freeze successive "notes" or sounds to build harmony

Prisma at Ircam 2019

The Prisma group of composers & researchers met again at Ircam in the Summer of 2019. As per usual, the initial spark was lit by composer Jacopo Baboni Schilingi. This year, the conference featured the following presentations:Alessandro Ratoci: New composition for electric guitar and live computer based on Sonic Youth's Confused Idols and Sexy KillersNicolas Jacquot: Metalepsis - reflection of the figure in the field of compositionJacopo Baboni Schilingi: 25 years of aesthetic research: the Idio-spheres, and the introduction of Für Hans, a sonata for piano and live computerJohannes Kretz: String quartet using real time composition with 5 tablet computersJean-François Charles: From Magma (2003) to Petrified (2019): the evolution of a composition for instruments and live electronicsÖrjan Sandred: Using PMC in MaxMauricio Valdés San Emeterio: current researchThis meeting is always the occasion of learning a lot from each other: every composer/researcher comes with a specific doma…

Dance Gala 2019

I've been honored to collaborate on two creations for the University of Iowa Dance Gala 2019. (dis)APPEAR(d)ancesThis has been a true collaboration with choreography by Jennifer Kayle live video and media design by Daniel Fine, and music created with Joseph Norman & Jonathan Wilson. We play live to the show: Jonathan on tenor sax & Buchla analog synthesizer, Joseph on electric guitar, and me on custom live electronics.Struggle for PleasureFor this piece, choreographer Armando Duarte invited Joseph Norman to compose a new score for the Laptop Orchestra at the University of Iowa. The composition is a kind of concerto for double bass and soprano: the soloists are LIGAMENT. The orchestra features setar, laptop-based synthesizer, electric violin, bass, live electronic processing of the soloists.
Before the curtain lift, dress rehearsal #2. I hope you can make it to the Hancher auditorium tonight for the second show!

Grant Wood Operas on Iowa Public Radio

Tonight 8pm and tomorrow 4pm! Stream live from Iowa Public Radio.The original commission, The Grant Wood Operas: Strokes of Genius, was premiered in April 2019 by the Cedar Rapids Opera Theatre. Enjoy these three one-act operas — one each by composers Robert Lindsey-Nassif, Jean-François-Charles, and Michael Ching. Each opera highlights strong threads between the paintings and the life of Grant Wood. The Grant Wood operas are:American Gothical by Robert Lindsey-NassifGrant Wood in Paris by Jean-François CharlesEight Woods and a Van by Michael Ching